Skip to content
Launchpad Library logo

AI agents, compared honestly.

Always-on assistants, coding agents and open-source frameworks, what each one actually runs on, what it costs, and what we don't know yet. Every claim is sourced and dated.

Agent or model?

A model is the engine. An agent is a product built on a model that can use your apps and keep working on its own. For example, Muse Spark 1.3 is the model; Muse is the agent that runs on it. For the engines themselves, see AI Models Compared.

Meta Muse

Meta · Always-on assistant

Live

Personal agent that works on its own secure computer: email and messaging, calendar, travel and dining, shopping, bills, health and fitness.

Runs on
Muse Spark 1.3
Where it runs
Its own secure computer, run by Meta
What it can connect to
Email and messaging, calendar, travel and dining, shopping, bills, health and fitness
Price
  • FreeUsage limits apply$0
  • Power$20/month
  • Max$100/month

Meta has not published exact paid-tier quotas.

Source: TechCrunch, September 8, 2026 · Last checked October 5, 2026

Availability
US only, ages 18+. Web, iOS, Android and WhatsApp; a Mac version followed in September.
Benchmarks
No independent benchmark published.
Safeguards the maker describes
  • Meta says Muse data will not feed its advertising systems (Meta's claim).
Reported concerns
  • TechCrunch noted Meta's history, including its FTC settlement, and said Meta's privacy claims for Muse need independent testing. TechCrunch, September 8, 2026

    Maker's response: Meta says Muse data will not feed its advertising systems.

Announced, not yet shipped
  • Smart-glasses support
  • A realtime avatar
  • Fuller Mac computer control
  • An email address for Muse

Announced September 23, 2026, all marked "coming soon" (TechCrunch).

Versions & timeline

DateVersion or milestoneWhat changedSource
July 9, 2026Muse Spark 1.1Model releaseMeta blog
September 2, 2026Muse Spark 1.3Rolling out through Muse Code and Meta's API; a "max reasoning" variant to follow after more safety testingAxios
September 8, 2026Muse agent launchUS only, ages 18+TechCrunch
September 23, 2026Roadmap announcedSmart glasses, realtime avatar, fuller Mac control and a Muse email address, all "coming soon"TechCrunch

Sources: TechCrunch: Meta debuts Muse (Sep 8, 2026) · TechCrunch: Everything new coming to Muse (Sep 23, 2026)

Open Meta Muse

OpenAI Dots

OpenAI · Always-on assistant

Live; beta for Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare

Always-on agents, each with its own cloud computer, that keep working toward goals without being prompted.

Runs on
GPT-6 Astra
Where it runs
Each dot has its own cloud computer
What it can connect to
4,000+ apps. Works through ChatGPT (desktop, web, mobile), Slack, Teams and voice calls; texting is coming.
Price
  • First dotPro and Business PremiumIncluded in the plan
  • Additional dotsOpenAI says more dots will be offered later at extra costNot announced

Source: OpenAI: Introducing Dots · Last checked October 5, 2026

Availability
Pro and Business Premium in eligible markets. Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare get an admin-enabled beta.
Benchmarks
No independent benchmark published.
Safeguards the maker describes
  • A separate cloud computer for each dot
  • Read-only permissions for background work
  • Auto-review of sensitive actions
  • Custom Rules for approvals
  • Passwords kept away from the model
  • OpenAI says "dots can still make mistakes, so always review consequential work."

Versions & timeline

DateVersion or milestoneWhat changedSource
September 10, 2026Agents APIFor developers building their own agentsOpenAI DevDay recap
September 29, 2026Dots announced at DevDayAgents API also extended with computer useOpenAI

Sources: OpenAI: Introducing Dots · OpenAI: DevDay 2026 recap

Open OpenAI Dots

Microsoft Autopilot (formerly Scout)

Microsoft · Always-on assistant

Preview

Persistent agent inside Microsoft 365 with its own identity, memory and workspace, built on the open-source OpenClaw framework.

Runs on
Not disclosedReported as including GPT-6 Astra and Claude models; Microsoft does not say which does what.
Where it runs
Inside Microsoft 365, with its own identity, memory and workspace
What it can connect to
Microsoft 365
Price
  • Copilot subscriptionEnterprise rate; required$30/month
  • Usage creditsBilled separatelyNot announced

Source: VentureBeat · Last checked October 5, 2026

Availability
Private preview, expanding. Managed runtime and SDK in public preview.
Benchmarks
No independent benchmark published.
Safeguards the maker describes
  • Microsoft describes policy checks with an audit trail for each action (Microsoft's claim).

Versions & timeline

DateVersion or milestoneWhat changedSource
June 2, 2026Scout announcedAnnounced at BuildTechCrunch
About September 25, 2026Renamed AutopilotPart of a redesigned Copilot appVentureBeat

Sources: VentureBeat: Copilot revamp with Autopilot (Sep 2026) · TechCrunch: Microsoft launches Scout (Jun 2, 2026)

Open Microsoft Autopilot

Grok Bot

SpaceXAI · Always-on assistant

Beta

Agent teammate with its own cloud computer that works across apps, including ones without clean APIs, and can run several bots under a coordinator.

Runs on
Not disclosedSpaceXAI says tasks are routed to models automatically.
Where it runs
Its own cloud computer
What it can connect to
Works across apps, including ones without clean APIs; Team Bots work in Slack and Teams
Price
  • x.aix.ai says usage is separate from existing plansNo price stated
  • Individuals via Cursor UltraReported by VentureBeat$200/month
  • Cursor Teams PremiumReported by VentureBeat$120 per seat/month

Sources disagree, so both figures are shown with who said them.

Source: x.ai: Introducing Grok Bot · Last checked October 5, 2026

Availability
Beta for SuperGrok and Cursor Pro, Pro+, Ultra and Teams plans; enterprise waitlist.
Benchmarks
No independent benchmark published.

Versions & timeline

DateVersion or milestoneWhat changedSource
June 16, 2026SpaceX agrees to buy Cursor$60 billion in stockTechCrunch
August 11, 2026BetaSuperGrok and Cursor plansx.ai
September 21, 2026Grok 4.7Model releasedx.ai news
September 28, 2026Team BotsShared bots for Slack and Teamsx.ai

Sources: x.ai: Introducing Grok Bot · VentureBeat: Grok Bot at $120 per month · TechCrunch: SpaceX to acquire Cursor (Jun 16, 2026)

Open Grok Bot

Gemini Spark

Google · Always-on assistant

Rolling out

Always-on agent across Gmail, Calendar, Drive, Docs, Sheets, Slides, YouTube and Maps, with scheduled tasks and custom skills.

Runs on
Not disclosed
Where it runs
Not disclosed
What it can connect to
Gmail, Calendar, Drive, Docs, Sheets, Slides, YouTube and Maps
Price
  • Google AI Pro and UltraPlan requiredIncluded
  • Spark itselfNot disclosed

Source: Google: Gemini Spark · Last checked October 5, 2026

Availability
Google AI Pro and Ultra subscribers, 18+, in select countries; still rolling out.
Benchmarks
No independent benchmark published.
Safeguards the maker describes
  • App connections are off by default (Google's description)
  • Google says it checks with you before major actions

Versions & timeline

DateVersion or milestoneWhat changedSource
2026 (Google I/O)AnnouncedPer press coverage; Google's page gives no dateGoogle

Sources: Google: Gemini Spark

Open Gemini Spark

Claude Cowork

Anthropic · Always-on assistant

Rolling out

Agent for documents, files and multi-step work on desktop and mobile, merged with Claude chat into one product.

Claude is also the AI assistant used to research this page. This entry uses only Anthropic's announcements and press coverage.

Runs on
Claude Opus 5.5 and Sonnet 5.5See the model cards
Where it runs
Desktop and mobile apps
What it can connect to
Documents and files
Price
  • Claude plansSee the Claude entries on the Models page

Source: TechCrunch, September 16, 2026 · Last checked October 5, 2026

Availability
Rolling out to Pro and Max first, Free and Team later.
Benchmarks
No independent benchmark published.

Versions & timeline

DateVersion or milestoneWhat changedSource
September 16, 2026Merged with Claude chatOne product; Pro and Max first, Free and Team laterTechCrunch

Sources: TechCrunch: Anthropic merges Claude chat and Cowork (Sep 16, 2026)

Open Claude Cowork

OpenAI Codex

OpenAI · Coding agent

Live

OpenAI's coding agent: a command-line tool, a cloud agent, desktop apps and IDE plugins, merged into the ChatGPT desktop app on July 9, 2026.

Runs on
GPT-6.1 Sol and other modelsSee the model cards
Where it runs
Your machine (CLI, desktop, IDE) or OpenAI's cloud, which keeps working with your laptop closed
What it can connect to
GitHub repositories (Code Review, Codex Security Cloud), your local files and editor
Price
  • ChatGPT Plus, Pro, Business, Healthcare, Education, EnterpriseIncluded in the plan

Source: OpenAI: DevDay 2026 recap · Last checked October 5, 2026

Availability
ChatGPT paid plans listed above.
Benchmarks
No independent benchmark published.

Versions & timeline

DateVersion or milestoneWhat changedSource
April 2025Codex CLICommand-line tool open-sourcedWikipedia
May 2025codex-1Cloud agent launchedWikipedia
February 5, 2026GPT-5.3-CodexNew model; desktop apps arrive in FebruaryWikipedia
February 12, 2026GPT-5.3-Codex-SparkA faster variantWikipedia
March 5, 2026GPT-5.4 for CodexOpenAI reported more than 2 million weekly users in March 2026Wikipedia
June 2026GPT-5.5-Cyber with Codex SecuritySecurity-focused modelWikipedia
July 9, 2026Merged into ChatGPT desktopCodex joins the main ChatGPT desktop appWikipedia
September 29, 2026DevDay updatesCodex in the cloud (works with your laptop closed), refreshed CLI with an /agents view and voice-started tasks, Code Review, Codex Security CloudOpenAI

Sources: OpenAI: DevDay 2026 recap · Wikipedia: OpenAI Codex (AI agent)

Open OpenAI Codex

Claude Code

Anthropic · Coding agent

Live

Anthropic's coding agent. This entry will be filled in from Anthropic's own pages.

Claude is also the AI assistant used to research this page. This entry uses only Anthropic's announcements and press coverage.

Runs on
Not disclosed
Where it runs
Not disclosed
What it can connect to
Not disclosed
Price

Not disclosed here yet.

Source: Anthropic announcements · Last checked October 5, 2026

Availability
Not disclosed here yet.
Benchmarks
No independent benchmark published.

Versions & timeline

DateVersion or milestoneWhat changedSource
September 23, 2026Claude MarketplaceAnnouncedAnthropic
September 25, 2026Plugin buildingAnnouncedAnthropic
October 1, 2026ModsCustomization for Claude CodeAnthropic

Sources: Anthropic announcements

Open Claude Code

Google Antigravity 2.0

Google · Coding agent

Live

Agent-first coding platform that runs several agents in parallel, with a desktop app, CLI and SDKs.

Runs on
Gemini 3.5 Flash
Where it runs
Desktop app and CLI on your machine
What it can connect to
Not disclosed
Price

Not disclosed.

No pricing found.

Source: Cybernews · Last checked October 5, 2026

Availability
Not disclosed
Benchmarks
No independent benchmark published.

Versions & timeline

DateVersion or milestoneWhat changedSource
May 20, 2026Antigravity 2.0 launchPowered by Gemini 3.5 FlashCybernews

Sources: Cybernews: Google I/O 2026

Open Google Antigravity 2.0

Devin

Cognition · Coding agent

Live

Coding agent that aims to take a whole ticket end to end rather than answer one question.

Runs on
Not disclosed
Where it runs
Cognition's cloud
What it can connect to
Not disclosed
Price
  • FreeLight quota, limited models$0/month
  • Pro$20/month
  • Max$200/month
  • Teams$80/month + $40 per developer seat
  • EnterpriseCustom, billed in compute units

Listed for the free documentation and free tier; the useful quotas are paid.

Source: Devin's pricing page · Last checked September 17, 2026

Availability
Free, Pro, Max, Teams and Enterprise plans.
Benchmarks
  • SWE-bench (original, unassisted)13.86%

    share of real GitHub issues resolved end to end

    Cognition's own technical report · 15 March 2024 · maker's own figures

    The maker's own figure, and now two years old.

  • SWE-bench Verified48.2% or 61.7%, depending on the source

    share of human-checked GitHub issues resolved end to end

    Dataku (48.2%) and Tensorfeed (61.7%) · 9 June 2025 / undated · independent

    The two aggregators contradict each other and neither is the official leaderboard. Treat as unverified.

Devin's numbers are a mess to cite honestly: Cognition's only first-party report predates the SWE-bench Verified set, and the two aggregators that list a current figure disagree by 13 points. Both are below.

Figures copied from the sources above, checked 29 September 2026.

Sources: Devin's pricing page

Open Devin

Kilo

Kilo · Coding agent

Live

Open-source coding agent for VS Code, JetBrains, the terminal and the cloud.

Runs on
Whichever model you plug in
Where it runs
Your editor or terminal, or the cloud
What it can connect to
Your editor and files
Price
  • IndividualOpen source, free forever$0
  • Model useOr $0 with the free model routingProvider cost, zero markup
  • Teams14-day trial$15/user/month
  • EnterpriseCustom

Source: Kilo's pricing page · Last checked September 17, 2026

Availability
Individuals, teams and enterprise.
Benchmarks
  • KiloBench (Terminal-Bench 2.0, run in Kilo's harness)76.2% at $87.41 per attempt — 1st

    share of real command-line tasks completed unaided, with the API cost of trying · tested: GPT-5.6 Sol driven by Kilo

    Kilo's own KiloBench board · checked September 2026 · maker's own figures

  • KiloBench (Terminal-Bench 2.0, run in Kilo's harness)75.3% at $112.27 per attempt — 3rd

    share of real command-line tasks completed unaided, with the API cost of trying · tested: Gemini 3.8 Flash driven by Kilo

    Kilo's own KiloBench board · checked September 2026 · maker's own figures

Kilo now publishes its own board — KiloBench — which runs Terminal-Bench 2.0 through Kilo's actual agent harness and reports the cost of each attempt alongside the pass rate. These are Kilo's own figures, not an independent leaderboard, and each one belongs to the model plugged in rather than to Kilo itself. The 88% SWE-bench figure floating around one comparison blog still has no primary source, so it stays out.

Figures copied from the sources above, checked 29 September 2026.

1 more published figure on its own page.

Sources: Kilo's pricing page

Open Kilo

OpenCode

OpenCode · Coding agent

Live

Terminal-first, open-source coding agent.

Runs on
Your own model key, or models through the Zen gateway
Where it runs
Your machine (terminal)
What it can connect to
Your files and terminal
Price
  • OpenCodeOpen source, bring your own model key$0
  • Zen gatewayStarts with a $20 balancePay as you go, no subscription
  • Zen — Claude Opus 4.5$5.00 in / $25.00 out per million tokens
  • Zen — Claude Haiku 4.5$1.00 in / $5.00 out per million tokens

Source: OpenCode Zen pricing · Last checked September 17, 2026

Availability
Free to download.
Benchmarks
  • Terminal-Bench 2.051.7% — 66th place

    share of real command-line tasks completed unaided · tested: OpenCode driving Claude Opus 4.5

    Terminal Trove comparison · checked September 2026 · independent

    Third-party comparison site, not the official leaderboard.

OpenCode publishes no score of its own; the one public figure tests it as a harness driving somebody else's model.

Figures copied from the sources above, checked 29 September 2026.

Sources: OpenCode Zen pricing

Open OpenCode

Herdr

Herdr · Coding agent

Live

Coordinates several agents on one job instead of running a single assistant.

Runs on
Your own model key
Where it runs
Your machine
What it can connect to
Not disclosed
Price
  • HerdrApache 2.0, installed and run by you$0
  • Model useWhatever your own API key costs

Herdr has no pricing page; there is nothing to buy from them.

Source: the Herdr site · Last checked September 17, 2026

Availability
Free to download.
Benchmarks

No published score. Herdr isn't a model — it runs several agents side by side, so there's no capability score to publish. The only figures its site quotes are speed and processor use against tmux, which measure the terminal, not the AI. A benchmark for this kind of orchestration now exists (ClawArena-Team, July 2026), but nobody has run Herdr on it, so there is still nothing to quote.

Sources: Herdr site

Open Herdr

Hermes Agent

Nous Research · Open-source framework

Live

Open-source, self-improving agent with memory and skills.

Runs on
The model of your choice, through your own API key
Where it runs
Your own machine or server, or a third-party host
What it can connect to
Not disclosed
Price
  • SoftwareMIT license, run it yourself$0
  • Model useNo fee to HermesWhatever your own API key costs
  • Managed hosting — 7-day trialIncludes built-in model access, 500 conversations every 5 hours$12 one-off
  • Managed hosting — monthlyThird-party hosts run this; Hostinger's managed plan starts at $5.99/month and renews at $11.99/monthFrom about $6/month
  • Your own server instead$4–$25/month VPS plus your model spend

The project itself sells nothing; the hosted figures come from the third-party hosts that package it.

Source: the Hermes Agent site · Last checked September 17, 2026

Availability
Free to download.
Latest version
See releases
Benchmarks

Published scores belong to the Hermes 4 405B model, not the agent.

The agent itself has never been benchmarked. These are scores for Hermes 4 405B, the model it runs on, and the headline numbers come from Nous Research's own technical report.

Figures copied from the sources above, checked 29 September 2026.

1 more published figure on its own page.

Versions & timeline

DateVersion or milestoneWhat changedSource
July 1, 2026v0.18.0"The Judgment Release"GitHub releases
July 20, 2026v0.19.0"The Quicksilver Release"GitHub releases

Sources: Hermes Agent site · GitHub releases

Open Hermes Agent

OpenClaw

Open-source community · Open-source framework

Live

Open-source personal agent that became the base for other companies' agents, including Microsoft's.

Runs on
Not disclosed
Where it runs
Your own machine
What it can connect to
Not disclosed
Price
  • OpenClawOpen source$0

Source: TechCrunch, February 15, 2026 · Last checked October 5, 2026

Availability
Free to download.
Benchmarks
No independent benchmark published.

Versions & timeline

DateVersion or milestoneWhat changedSource
February 15, 2026Creator joins OpenAIPeter Steinberger joined OpenAI; OpenAI said OpenClaw will live in a foundation it supportsTechCrunch

Sources: TechCrunch: OpenClaw creator joins OpenAI (Feb 15, 2026)

Open OpenClaw

No independent benchmark exists for any of the always-on agents, so none is shown. Where a maker doesn't say which model runs underneath, the page says "not disclosed."